Munich winner Holger Rune joins the field 

at the Hamburg European Open

Hamburg tennis fans can now look forward to the up-and-coming Danish star Holger Rune! The 19-year-old winner of the ATP tournament in Munich just announced his participation in the Hamburg European Open (July 16-24, 2022). Rune already celebrated his “mini” Hamburg debut in 2019, when he reached the semifinals of the U21 Tennis Europe invitational tournament as part of the Rothenbaum Tournament Week. “I am very much looking forward to come back to Hamburg This time on the ATP Tour! The Hamburg European Open is a fantastic tournament in a beautiful location in Hamburg. I can’t wait!” says the Scandinavian.

In Munich two weeks ago, Holger Vitus Nødskov Rune (which is his full name) defeated, among others, Hamburg’s Alexander Zverev 6-3, 6-2 on the way to his first ATP title. By the end of the tournament week, the likeable blond was awarded his very first car by the title sponsor as a special prize. He doesn’t have a driver’s license yet, so he enjoyed being chauffeured around center court as a passenger.

The former world junior number one from the Mouratoglou Academy, who also won the French Open junior title in 2019, turned professional in 2020 at the age of 16. Since then, he has made a steep climb up the world rankings – currently he is ranked 42nd. In the annual ranking of the best players under 21, he is third behind Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, who is the same age, and Jannik Sinner (Italy), who is a year and a half older. He is certainly one of the young players who is being talked about the most.

“For me, Holger is a player who has the potential to be a future superstar. I like him because he is a very passionate player, and because he is also very charismatic off the court,” says tournament director Sandra Reichel. “I’m delighted that we already discovered him here in 2019. Since then, Hamburg and our Rothenbaum tournament seem to hold a special place in his heart.”

Rune is the second player after Spaniard Alejandro Davidovich Fokina to announce his early commitment to the Hamburg European Open 2022. Tournament ambassador Andrea Petkovic and top ten player Danielle Collins from the USA have already confirmed their participation in the women’s competition of the combined event.

Tickets for the 116th edition of the clay-court classic are available in advance via the ticket hotline 01806-991175 or the online ticket shop (www.hamburg-open.com/tickets).

 

© Matchmaker Sports GmbH 2020. All rights reserved.

München-Sieger Holger Rune startet bei den Hamburg European Open

Die Hamburger Tennisfans dürfen sich auf den dänischen Nachwuchsstar Holger Rune freuen! Der 19 Jahre alte Sieger des ATP-Turniers von München gab jetzt seine Teilnahme an den Hamburg European Open (16. bis 24. Juli 2022) bekannt. Sein „kleines” Hamburg-Debüt hatte Rune bereits im Jahr 2019 gefeiert, als er bei dem U21-Tennis-Europe-Einladungsturnier im Rahmen der Rothenbaum-Turnierwoche ins Halbfinale kam. „Ich freue mich sehr darauf, nach Hamburg zurückzukehren. Diesmal auf der ATP-Tour! Die Hamburg European Open sind ein fantastisches Turnier in einer wunderschönen Location in Hamburg. Ich kann es kaum erwarten”, sagt der Skandinavier.

In München hatte Holger Vitus Nødskov Rune, wie er mit vollem Namen heißt, auf dem Weg zu seinem ersten ATP-Titel vor zwei Wochen unter anderem den Hamburger Alexander Zverev mit 6:3, 6:2 deklassiert. Am Ende der Turnierwoche erhielt der sympathische Blondschopf vom Titelsponsor als Sonderpreis sein erstes eigenes Auto – und das, ohne überhaupt einen Führerschein zu haben. So wurde er als Beifahrer über den Center Court chauffiert.

Der ehemalige Jugendweltranglistenerste aus der Mouratoglou Academy, der 2019 auch den French-Open-Titel bei den Junioren gewonnen hatte, wurde bereits 2020 im Alter von 16 Jahren Profi. Seither ging es für ihn steil nach oben in der Weltrangliste – aktuell belegt er Platz 42. In der Jahreswertung der besten Spieler unter 21 Jahren liegt er hinter dem gleichaltrigen Spanier Carlos Alcaraz und dem eineinhalb Jahre älteren Jannik Sinner (Italien) auf Platz drei und gehört zu den Nachwuchsspielern, die am heißesten gehandelt werden.

„Für mich ist Holger ein Spieler, der das Potenzial zu einem künftigen Superstar hat. Ich mag ihn, weil er ein sehr emotionaler Spielertyp ist und weil er auch neben dem Platz sehr charismatisch ist“, sagt Turnierdirektorin Sandra Reichel. „Ich freue mich, dass wir ihn schon 2019 hier entdeckt haben. Seitdem scheinen Hamburg und unser Rothenbaum-Turnier einen Platz in seinem Herzen zu haben.“

Rune ist nach dem Spanier Alejandro Davidovich Fokina der zweite Spieler, der seine frühzeitige Startzusage für die Hamburg European Open 2022 gegeben hat. Für die Damenkonkurrenz des „Combined Events” haben sich bereits Turnierbotschafterin Andrea Petkovic und Top-Ten-Spielerin Danielle Collins aus den USA angekündigt.

Tickets für die 116. Auflage des Sandplatz-Klassikers sind im Vorverkauf über die Ticket-Hotline 01806-991175 und über den Online-Karten-Shop erhältlich.

© Matchmaker Sports GmbH 2020. All rights reserved.