Germany’s superstar Angelique Kerber to appear in Hamburg – “A premiere with a home feel”

“Angie” is set to appear in Hamburg! After taking time off to have a baby, the former world No. 1 Angelique Kerber will play the 2024 Hamburg European Open on her comeback trail. It will be a home game and a premiere for the “local” hero who grew up in Kiel, a 90-minute drive away. The 35-year-old has never played a WTA tournament in northern Germany before. “For me as a North German, it feels a bit like coming home,” says the three-time Grand Slam champion. Her tennis club as a junior – TC Alsterquelle – is only 20 kilometres away from Hamburg’s Stadtpark.

Replacing the Rothenbaum stadium next year, the Stadtpark will be the one-off venue for the  tournament due to the timing and logistics of the Olympic year. Tickets for the “boutique tournament” taking place from 20 to 26 July are available via the hotline + 49 1806-991175* and the online shop. Centre Court tickets for the main draw are available from 35 euro.

 “As a child, I often went to the Rothenbaum tournament. Now I’m looking forward to competing in Hamburg for the first time,” says Angelique Kerber. “The city has a great tennis tradition with lots of fans. It’ll be a premiere for me as the event has a home-feel to it. Tennis is currently enjoying an upturn in Germany, and it’s all the more important that there’s also a world-class WTA tournament in the north of the country.”

The Rio 2016 silver medallist wants to use the WTA 250 clay court tournament to have the best possible preparation for the Paris Olympic Games set to begin in the evening on 26 July. The tennis competitions will take place on the same surface at Stade Roland Garros. After being out of the game for one-and-a half years – her daughter Liana was born in February 2023, Kerber is currently preparing for the season opener in Australia. The left-hander, who played her last competitive match Wimbledon in July 2022, has already confirmed her participation at the United Cup and in Adelaide. Her long-time coach Torben Beltz , another “northern light”, is back in her team.

“Angie topped of my list of players I hoped would come to the 2024 Hamburg European Open. She’s simply Germany’s superstar in recent times and tennis fans love her for her incredible fighting spirit and her likeable nature. She’s a great role model for everyone,” emphasised Tournament Director Sandra Reichel.

In her career, Angelique Kerber has won Wimbledon (2018), the Australian Open (2016) and the US Open (2016). She was ranked the world No. 1 for a total of 34 weeks and has won 14 WTA titles. She claimed her last tournament win in Strasbourg in May 2022 and was named Germany’s “Sportswoman of the Year” in both 2016 and 2018.

Entrepreneur Alexander Otto is looking forward to the 2024 Hamburg European Open

Alexander Otto, one of Hamburg’s most important sports sponsors and CEO of ECE, is delighted that Angelique Kerber has agreed to play and reaffirms his commitment to the tournament: “It’s thanks to Sandra Reichel that the women’s tournament will remain in Hamburg, and even become a warm-up for the Olympic Games. I’m looking forward to two premieres, top-class tennis in the Stadtpark and Angelique Kerber’s first appearance in northern Germany. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for her comeback and am looking forward to the tournament, which ECE is also supporting next year.” ECE, which has been a premium partner at the Rothenbaum for the past five years, remains one of the most important sponsors of the Hamburg European Open.

In addition to Kerber, a quartet of local Hamburg heroes will also be looking to thrill tennis fans in the Hanseatic city: Tamara Korpatsch (28/ WTA rank 83), Eva Lys (21/ WTA 135), this year’s sensational runner-up Noma Noha Akugue (20/ WTA 177) and Ella Seidel (18/ WTA 179) are four Hamburg women in the Top 200 – making Hamburg a women’s tennis stronghold. During the tournament week, a centre court for about 2,000 spectators will be erected in the city park in the grounds shared by the THC Horn Hamm and SV St. Georg clubs.  The world’s second-oldest WTA tournament – its history dates back to 1896 – will therefore offer a particularly exclusive flair next summer.

© Matchmaker Sports GmbH 2020. All rights reserved.

Deutschlands Tennis-Superstar Angelique Kerber gibt Zusage für Hamburg: „Eine Premiere mit Heimatgefühl“

„Angie“ kommt nach Hamburg! Die ehemalige Weltranglistenerste Angelique Kerber schlägt 2024 auf ihrer Comeback-Tour nach der Babypause bei den Hamburg European Open auf. Es wird für die Kielerin ein Heimspiel – und zugleich eine Premiere: Noch nie in ihrer Karriere hat die 35-Jährige ein WTA-Turnier in Norddeutschland bestritten. „Für mich fühlt es sich als Norddeutsche ein bisschen an wie nach Hause kommen“, sagt die dreifache Grand-Slam-Turniersiegerin. Kerbers Heimatstadt Kiel erreicht man über die Autobahn in weniger als eineinhalb Stunden. Ihr Stammverein in der Jugend – der TC Alsterquelle – ist sogar nur 20 Kilometer nördlich vom Hamburger Stadtpark entfernt.

Der Stadtpark ist 2024 für das Frauen-Event, terminlich und logistisch bedingt durch das Olympiajahr, die historisch einmalige Austragungsstätte – anstelle des Rothenbaum-Stadions. Tickets für das vom 20. bis 26. Juli stattfindende „Boutique-Turnier“ im Grünen sind über die Hotline 01806-991175* und den Online-Shoperhältlich. Center-Court-Karten für das Hauptfeld gibt es ab 35 Euro.

 „Als Kind war ich häufig als Fan beim Rothenbaum-Turnier dabei. Jetzt freue ich mich drauf, das erste Mal in meiner Karriere in Hamburg an den Start zu gehen“, sagt Angelique Kerber voller Vorfreude. „Die Stadt hat eine große Tennis-Tradition mit vielen Fans – das wird für mich eine Premiere, die auch mit Heimatgefühl verbunden ist. Aktuell ist Tennis in Deutschland wieder im Aufwind, und umso wichtiger ist es, dass es auch im Norden ein WTA-Turnier auf Weltklasseniveau gibt.

Die Silbermedaillengewinnerin von Rio 2016 will sich bei dem Sandplatzturnier der WTA-250er-Kategorie optimal vorbereiten auf die Olympischen Spiele, die am Abend des 26. Juli in Paris eröffnet werden. Die Tenniswettbewerbe finden auf Sand im Stade Roland Garros statt. Aktuell bereitet sich Kerber nach eineinhalbjähriger Babypause (Tochter Liana wurde im Februar 2023 geboren) auf den Saisonauftakt in Australien vor. Die Linkshänderin, die ihr bislang letztes Match im Juli 2022 in Wimbledon bestritt, hat bereits ihre Teilnahme beim United Cup und in Adelaide bestätigt. Wieder an ihrer Seite ist auch ihr langjähriger Trainer Torben Beltz; der Itzehoer ist ebenfalls ein „Nordlicht“.

„,Angie‘ war meine absolute Wunschspielerin für die Hamburg European Open 2024, sie ist einfach Deutschlands Tennis-Superstar der vergangenen Jahre, und die Tennisfans lieben sie für ihren unglaublichen Kampfeswillen und ihre sympathische Menschlichkeit. Sie ist ein großes Vorbild für alle“, betont Turnierdirektorin Sandra Reichel.

Angelique Kerber gewann in ihrer Karriere Wimbledon (2018), die Australian Open (2016) und die US Open (2016). Sie war insgesamt 34 Wochen die Nummer eins der Weltrangliste und holte 14 WTA-Titel. Ihren vorerst letzten Turniersieg feierte sie im Mai 2022 in Straßburg. In den Jahren 2016 und 2018 wurde sie zu Deutschlands „Sportlerin des Jahres“ gekürt.

Unternehmer Alexander Otto freut sich auf die Hamburg European Open 2024

Alexander Otto, einer der bedeutendsten Sportförderer Hamburgs und CEO der ECE, freut sich über die Zusage von Angelique Kerber und bekräftigt seine Verbundenheit mit dem Turnier: „Es ist das Verdienst von Sandra Reichel, dass das Damen-Turnier in Hamburg bleibt und sogar zum Warm-up für die Olympischen Spiele wird. Gespannt bin ich auf gleich zwei Premieren: auf hochklassiges Tennis im Stadtpark und den ersten Auftritt von Angelique Kerber in Norddeutschland. Ich drücke ihr die Daumen für ihr Comeback und freue mich auf das Turnier, das meine ECE auch im nächsten Jahr unterstützt.“ Das Unternehmen ECE, das bereits in den vergangenen fünf Jahren Premiumpartner am Rothenbaum war, bleibt damit einer der wichtigsten Sponsoren der Hamburg European Open.

Neben Kerber will auch ein Quartett aus Hamburger Lokalmatadorinnen die Tennisfans in der Hansestadt begeistern: Aktuell stehen mit Tamara Korpatsch (28 Jahre/ WTA-Rang 83), Eva Lys (21/ WTA 135), der diesjährigen Sensationsfinalistin Noma Noha Akugue (20/ WTA 177) und Ella Seidel (18/ WTA 179) vier Hamburgerinnen in den Top-200 der Weltrangliste – damit ist Hamburg eine Damentennis-Hochburg! Im Stadtpark auf der gemeinsamen Tennis-Anlage der Vereine THC Horn Hamm und SV St. Georg wird während der Turnierwoche ein Center Court für rund 2000 Besucher*innen errichtet.  Somit bietet das zweitälteste WTA-Turnier der Welt, dessen Historie bis in Jahr 1896 zurückreicht, im kommenden Sommer ein besonders exklusives Flair.

© Matchmaker Sports GmbH 2020. All rights reserved.